Minor Arcana of the Tarot de Marseille - 56 Minor Arcana Cards

56 minor arcana cards from tarot of marseille

The Tarot de Marseille is a set of 78 cards, made up of 22 major arcana and 56 minor arcana. While the divinatory tarot mostly relies on the major arcana, it is also possible to perform a divination using the minor arcana, even though some tarot readers consider them to be harder to decipher.

Minor Arcana and Major Arcana

Indeed, some tarot reading experts believe that the minor arcana – more numerous than the major arcana – are more complex and that it is harder to master them.
However, during a Tarot de Marseille reading, free or not, the minor arcana are highly valuable and can offer a different perspective of the draw.

These tarot cards thus add more depth and details to the interpretation of the major arcana.


My birthdate




I have read and agreed to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Composition of the Minor Arcana

These tarot cards are numbered from 1 to 10, with 4 additional illustrated court cards:
  • Pages
  • Knights
  • Queens
  • Kings

The 56 minor arcana are divided into 4 suits of 14 arcana, each of them representing one of the elements:

  • Wands can be linked to Fire
  • Cups are related to Water
  • Swords refer to Air
  • Coins can be linked to Earth

From the meaning of the numbers, the characters, or even the suits, the minor arcana can offer a deep and complex interpretation that furthers the message and the meaning of the major arcana.

You may find below, other interesting articles from My Magic Blog: